Walking in the Snow with SKYY


Opening #1: “There is something about walking on freshly fallen snow, the kind that whispers and speaks as you walk. The way it transforms even humble suburbia into a place beautiful and clean.”

Opening #2: “The rude winter wind might threaten to stop the blood-flow in the ends of my ears, but it doesn’t lessen the need for SKYY to get his winter-fix.”

These were two of my potential opening lines for this post. I was *inspired* by @neilhimself and his tweets (I don’t like that term) about walking in the snow with his white German Shepherd, Cabal (which is a cool name for a dog.)

Not my dog.  A different white dog.

@neilhimself's dog. Beautiful white German Shepherd, named Cabal. Also kills squirrels.

But there comes a day when one must admit that one is not Neil Gaiman. So here goes:

I am not Neil Gaiman. I am younger. I wear colors other than black.

It’s true.

But nevertheless, I too have a white dog and often walk in the snow. But what saddens me about my walks with SKYY is that I almost never get to see him in the daytime. Like Neil, it’s umpteen degrees below zero all the time. Unlike Neil, I have a dayjob that pretty well occupies the day. The shortened Minnesota winter days means it’s still dark when I walk SKYY in the morning and evening. My neighbor, who daily gives SKYY a little exercise around lunch gets to see him during the day, but not I.

So it was with both intent and relish that I took SKYY on a long walk this past weekend. I’ve already posted about our day at the dog park [click here if you’re interested in reading that post], but what I didn’t mention then is that I took a fair amount of footage of SKYY during a long walk that day, for no reason other than the pure joy of seeing him run around in the sunshine for a change.

So, per usual, I’ve got a little video of SKYY here of that event. The truth is, we had a wonderful time. And in the rays of the sun, the beauty of SKYY’s gait (even as a puppy), the brilliance of his white fur, and the joy with which he bounded through the snow provided me all of the satisfaction for which I had hoped.

Feel free to give me some feedback on the quality of the videos. Pretty soon I’m going to have to come up with some schtick other than setting SKYY to music (I added some “dialogue” to the dog-park post), but for the time being I’ll hope you bear with me.

Thanks to all the SKYY fans out there that _have_ enjoyed the posts.

For your viewing pleasure:

~ by nathancwsmith on January 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “Walking in the Snow with SKYY”

  1. This kuvasz lover thinks videos and photos set to music are schtick enough!

    And I miss the novelty of walking around with a kuv off lead like that. Enjoy it while you can – while we still take him hiking off lead, after he went on a 2+ hour detour and a frolic in our VT neighborhood when he was about 1, he is now pretty limited in his off-lead opportunities.

  2. We never, ever do off lead with Mr. T-Bone. Mainly because he is LOONY TOONS! He would chase everything, then bark at them, then play with them…. He does love snow though. The first snow we got this year he wouldn’t come in. He lays outside as long as he can. Begs and cries at the door just to leap and prance in it! It is definitely fun to watch, especially as a puppy.

Leave a Reply

 
